Linux News Desk

Subscribe to Linux News Desk: eMailAlertsEmail Alerts
Get Linux News Desk via: homepageHomepage mobileMobile rssRSS facebookFacebook twitterTwitter linkedinLinkedIn

Related Topics: Intel Virtualization Journal, Intel SOA Journal, Oracle Journal, Ubuntu Linux Journal, Open Source Journal, CIO/CTO Update, The Social Media Guide, VITO Report

Press Release

New Members Elected to Linux Foundation Technical Advisory Board

Peer-Elected Board Brings Community Perspective to Advancement of Linux

The Linux Foundation (LF), the nonprofit organization dedicated to accelerating the growth of Linux, today announced the results of its 2009 Technical Advisory Board (TAB) election, which was held at the Japan Linux Symposium in Tokyo.

The TAB consists of ten members of the Linux kernel community who are annually elected by their peers to serve staggered, two-year terms. The TAB collaborates with the Linux Foundation on programs and issues that affect the Linux community. The TAB Chair also sits on the board of the Linux Foundation.

Three new members were elected to the TAB this year:

  • Alan Cox, employed by Intel SSG and manager of major Linux projects such as the original Linux SMP implementation, the Linux Mac68K port and an experimental 16bit Linux subset port to the 8086;
  • Thomas Gleixner, who manages bug reports for NAND FLASH, core timers and the unified x86 architecture; and
  • Ted Ts'o, the first North American Linux kernel developer and Linux Foundation fellow. Ted was also voted as the new Vice Chair.

Re-elected for two-year terms are Jon Corbet, Linux kernel developer and author of the Linux Kernel Weather Report, and Greg Kroah-Hartman, employed by Novell and kernel maintainer for the -stable branch as well as manager of the Linux Device Driver Project.

TAB members who are serving the remainder of their two-year terms include:

  • James Bottomley, Novell distinguished engineer and Linux Kernel maintainer of the SCSI subsystem, the Linux Voyager port and the 53c700 driver;
  • Kristen Carlson Accardi, kernel developer at Intel and contributor to the ACPI, PCI, and SATA subsystems;
  • Chris Mason, Oracle Kernel development team and creator of the Btrfs file system;
  • Dave Jones, maintainer of the Fedora kernel at Red Hat; and
  • Chris Wright, employed by Red Hat, maintainer for the LSM framework, and co-maintainer of the -stable Linux kernel tree.

"The Technical Advisory Board provides essential guidance to the Linux Foundation and its members," said Jim Zemlin, executive director, the Linux Foundation. "Each member of the TAB personifies collaboration and works hard to help us increase the technical dominance of the Linux operating system."

The election for the TAB Chair will be in March 2010 at the Linux Foundation's Annual Collaboration Summit.

More Stories By Linux News Desk

SYS-CON's Linux News Desk gathers stories, analysis, and information from around the Linux world and synthesizes them into an easy to digest format for IT/IS managers and other business decision-makers.